Dreamcast.com Is Phishing Scam

Posted by x3sphere at March 10, 2008, 5:45 pm


This past weekend, the Dreamcast.com site relaunched, inviting all owners of the now-defunct console to enter in their DC serial number along with other personal details to get a @user.dreamcast.com email account. Some assumed that the site was launched in preparation for the console’s 10th anniversary.

Needless to say, we were skeptical, seeing as an IP lookup on the site revealed that it was hosted on a shared server in Orlando, Florida.

Sure enough, the site is indeed a phishing scam designed to harvest registration details. Speaking to Japanese website Mainichi, SEGA confirmed that it does not own the Dreamcast.com domain name anymore. The company is considering to take further action against the fraudulent site.

Dreamcast.com Scam [Mainichi]

Read moreDreamcast repair service to close, Rush Rush Rally Racing Hits Dreamcast In October, Harvest Moon Online Confirmed, Florida Supreme Court To Reject Filings From Thompson Directly, Square Enix Members Site Launches Next Monday, Registration Now Open

Comments

d1ddy says:

damnit! all my information... time to put one of those fake id's to use

you say:

Login with your username and password below. New User?





ss_blog_claim=bf55edcce6ff2f078693a24c8876e229