Dreamcast.com Is Phishing Scam
by Mike Bendel on March 10, 2008 @ 5:45 pm

This past weekend, the Dreamcast.com site relaunched, inviting all owners of the now-defunct console to enter in their DC serial number along with other personal details to get a @user.dreamcast.com email account. Some assumed that the site was launched in preparation for the console’s 10th anniversary.
Needless to say, we were skeptical, seeing as an IP lookup on the site revealed that it was hosted on a shared server in Orlando, Florida.
Sure enough, the site is indeed a phishing scam designed to harvest registration details. Speaking to Japanese website Mainichi, SEGA confirmed that it does not own the Dreamcast.com domain name anymore. The company is considering to take further action against the fraudulent site.
Dreamcast.com Scam [Mainichi]
Follow this author on Twitter.
Read more: Rush Rush Rally Racing Hits Dreamcast In October, Dreamcast 2 Under Works?, Happy 9th Birthday Dreamcast, Sega Readies Two Major Announcements, Sega Launches Auctions To Support Japan Relief Efforts






